Anykščiai Railway Station is a unique 19th c. technical, architectural and cultural monument. It was built in 1901. A two-storied building of the station, water tower, pack houses, a wide cobbled place, steel bridge over the river Šventoji have remained almost unchanged till our days. The façade of the building, windows, doors, decorated with wood carvings are authentic. Booking office in the waiting room at the ground floor is still used for its authentic functions. To both sides from the waiting room administrative offices were fitted. Three- room flat at the first floor was the home of the station master.
Museum employees re-created the environment of the old office of the station master. Excursion to Anykščiai Railway station like a time machine brings everyone 100 years back. Tourists visit a historical pack house, exposition of historical journey materials, signal means of communication, lanterns, whistles, huge weighing-machine that could weigh all the participants of excursion, and other exhibits.
In 2003 with the help of European Union funds and the donations of the Lithuanian government a modern pavilion for the exposition of the rolling stocks was built, different types of carriages were repaired, a steam engine made in 1949 was brought from Švenčionėliai.
Now tourists may visit the station, listen to an interesting story about the history of the station and the narrow gauge railway. During summer season (from May till November) seasons regular train services depart from this station.
View the embedded image gallery online at: